Robert Redford Named as National Wildlife Federation’s Conservationist of the Year

Seven Additional Award Recipients Named

03-31-2011 // Christine Dorsey
Robert Redford

The National Wildlife Federation has announced that Robert Redford is its Conservationist of the Year. Redford and seven other National Conservation Achievement Award recipients will be honored at the Federation’s 75th Anniversary Gala on April 13, 2011, in Washington, D.C.

As a dedicated conservationist and environmental leader, Mr. Robert Redford has focused the public’s attention on the importance of developing renewable energy, safeguarding clean water, and protecting the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge, while warning against the harsh impacts of global warming,” said Larry Schweiger, president of the National Wildlife Federation.

For more than 35 years, Redford has been committed to conservation and the environment and has received a number of awards for his conservation achievements.

Additionally, Redford has leveraged his profile to help heighten mass public awareness of the most pressing conservation issues. Some of his most successful efforts have focused on raising worldwide attention in opposition to new coal-fired power plants. Recently, he turned his attention to the devastating Gulf oil disaster to generate private funds for the restoration of the damaged ecosystem.

I believe the efforts of the National Wildlife Federation are more necessary now than ever to protect our natural resources and to prepare the next generation of environmental stewards,” said Robert Redford. “I am truly honored to celebrate the Federation’s 75th Anniversary and all of their profoundly significant accomplishments. I am very moved to be acknowledged by it in conjunction with this important occasion.”

The National Wildlife Federation has been honoring conservation heroes since 1965, through its National Conservation Achievement Awards and Dinner. This annual celebration – known informally as the “Connie Awards” – recognizes individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to protecting wildlife through education, advocacy and on-the-ground conservation. This year’s honorees include:

  • First Lady Michelle Obama for the Special 75th Anniversary Conservation Award;
  • Senator Richard G. Lugar (R-Ind.) for Government;
  • Jayni Chase for Education;
  • AVEDA for Corporate Leadership;
  • Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation for Philanthropy;
  • Dr. Virginia Burkett for Science; and,
  • Grace Breitenbeck for Youth.

Previous honorees have included former Vice President Al Gore, author Thomas Friedman, former Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger, former President Jimmy Carter, Lady Bird Johnson, Ted Turner, the Anheuser-Busch Companies, and many other distinguished recipients.

This year marks the 75th Anniversary of the National Wildlife Federation and its establishment as one of America’s premier conservation organizations. Find out more at

Get Our E-Newsletter 
Subscribe to National Wildlife Magazine!