Donate Donate

Eco-Schools USA Awards

Once a school has registered as an Eco-Schools USA and implemented the Seven Steps, they can apply for an Eco-Schools award on their school's personalized dashboard. There are three levels of the award system: BronzeSilver, and the prestigious Green Flag.

Green Flag

The Bronze and Silver awards are self-assessed, and can be achieved by meeting specific criteria and then submitting the on-line award form. The top award is the Green Flag, which must be evaluated by an Eco-Schools USA assessor and renewed every two years. A school is considered to be a permanent Eco-School once it has gained its fourth Green Flag, as we feel a school's culture has changed to included sustainability as a binding thread of its fabric, as important as academics and student safety.

The criteria making up each of the Seven Steps are assigned point values, and are outlined in the Seven Step Framework section of the handbook. As each step is completed, points are accumulated toward an award. The points required to reach each award level are outlined below.

The handbook has a step-by-step summary to assist you in getting the awards process started, including award criteria broken down for each of the Seven Steps, along with specific directions to apply for the Bronze, Silver, Green Flag and Green Flag renewal. We have also put together an Eco-Schools USA Toolkit to accompany the Handbook, where you will find our most commonly used forms, including the award criteria documents and checklists.

View the entire Eco-Schools USA Handbook 2017 from National Wildlife Federation

Green Flag Schools

Eco-Schools USA has been privileged to award Eco-Schools’ highest honor, the Green Flag, to the following U.S schools who’ve made significant and measurable changes impacting the environmental sustainability, both within the school and throughout the larger community.


Broadneck High School
Castle Rock Elementary School 
Center for Young Children (2nd Green Flag)
Centreville Elementary School (3rd Green Flag)
Discovery Elementary School 
Duarte Marti School No. 28 
Egg Harbor Township High School 
Essex County Vocational Technical School 
Frost Middle School 
George C. Marshall High School 
George L. Catrambone Elementary School 
Holland Township School 
Long Branch Middle School 
Mary Rieke Elementary School
MS 126 John Ericsson
PS 31 Samuel F. Dupont Elementary School 
PS 34 Oliver H Perry
Patton Elementary School
Piney Point Elementary School
Princeton Day School 
PS 110 The Monitor School 
Rachel Carson Middle School 
Spectrum Charter School (2nd Green Flag)
Wildflower Open Classroom 


Academe of the Oaks
Crystal River Primary School
Clark Fork School
Highlands Ranch High School
Woodrow Wilson Middle School
Concord Hill School
Eastside Memorial High School, Johnston Campus
Flint Hill Elementary (2nd Green Flag)
Lanier Middle School (2nd Green Flag)
Ps 69Q - The School of Cultural and Performing Art
St. Andrews School
Whitehouse School
Woodcliff Middle School


Belvedere Elementary School
Briargrove Elementary School
Brooklyn Urban Garden Charter School
Centreville Elementary School
Charles F. Patton Middle School
Chesterbrook Elementary
Daniels Run Elementary
Eisenhower High School
Fox Creek Elementary
Franklin Sherman Elementary
Haycock Elementary
Longfellow Middle School
Ps333 Manhattan School for Children
Mary Rieke Elementary
McFatter Technical Center
Old Trail School
Pioneer Elementary School
Ps166 The Richard Rodgers School
Rocky Run Middle School
Sand Creek Elementary
Sedalia Elementary
Small Green Tech Academy
Spectrum Charter School
Unity Charter School
William Annin Middle School

Get Involved

   Please leave this field empty

Happening Near You

You don't have to travel far to join us for an event. Attend an upcoming event with one of our regional centers.

Learn More